Capt. Geoff Curran

ECB Client Capt. Geoff Curran Takes First Grand Prix Win With Mullaghbane by Allen Gutowski

Capt. Geoff Curran claimed a first Grand Prix on Saturday when taking the penultimate leg of the GAIN/Alltech Autumn Grand Prix League with the Minister for Defences Mullaghbane.

Curran has had a productive season so far with the son of Parco and came close to the top on several occasions, including a second in the Premier Series at National Balmoral in July. The Army rider is best known as an Eventer for the Army Equitation School having represented Ireland at World Equestrian Games and Olympic Games. Capt. Curran was a previous winner of the Eventing World Cup Qualifier at Tattersalls with Kilkishen in 2009.

Despite not recording the fastest time of the day, Curran left all the fences intact and finished just over three seconds clear of his nearest rival with a time of 40.31 in the €3,000 class sponsored by Shires Equestrian.

Eddie Moloney got closest to Curran with the 7 Year Old Douglas Hill. The pair came away with a clean sheet in 43.37 which proved good enough for second place.

Young Rider Emma O'Dwyer and local rider Patrick Byrne were the only other double clears with the pair recording much slower times. Riding HHS Figero, O'Dwyer stopped the clock in 49.20 for third while Byrne finished in 51.09 with BGS Courage in fourth.

National Grand Prix League Champion, Greg Broderick had the two fastest times with Noel Cawley's Rincarina and Lisa Cawley's Golden Exchange. With both horses recording 4 faults, Rincarina broke the beam at 38.06 while the latter recorded a time of 38.59 for sixth and leave Broderick ruing what might have been.

Ahead of the final leg of the GAIN/Alltech Autumn Grand Prix League at the Cavan International Show next Friday, there is no change at the head of affairs with Capt. Michael Kelly still in front on 26 points, four ahead of Alexander Butler. Capt. Michael Kelly is bidding to become the first Army Rider to win a Grand Prix League Title.

GAIN/Alltech Autumn Grand Prix League - Wexford Equestrian Centre
Sponsored by Shires Equestrian

1st Mullaghbane (Capt Geoff Curran) 0/0 40.31
2nd Douglas Hill (Eddie Moloney) 0/0 43.37
3rd HHs Figero (Emma O Dwyer)0/0 49.20
4th BGS Courage (Patrick Byrne) 0/0 51.09
5th Rincarina (Greg Broderick) 0/4 38.06
6th Golden Exchange (Greg Broderick) 0/4 38.59